An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Shop Til U Drop...

I had some nice Christmas street scenes yesterday, when the dusk sky was a gorgeous velvety blue - today's were grey and dull and as quite often happens in quite a small ' town', someone (actually one of the young dudes that I'd shared that lift to Stonehenge Solstice with, the other day) wanted to chat, which we kind of did. Interesting how he and his mates got on and how they got back and that it was the best Solstice they'd been to. That's one of the great aspects of photographing the younger generation, especially if they're involved in music as it's then becomes a two-way conversation.

Downside is that however much you try and concentrate on one task, or the other, you cannot do both and in this case, the uninspiring street scenes, with shoppers fell by the wayside. They're OK, if you say it quickly but I really wanted the groups of people to make neat and complimenting patterns.

So, bit like yesterday, this early attempt will have to do. I usually panic a little bit and when I've got something possible, like this in the bag, I'll relax but bear in mind I should try and improve on it.

I'm pleased to say that this is uncropped but I did pump quite a lot of overall brightness into it, which I liked, making it a bit more translucent. Took about half a dozen and this one the only that worked. The 20mm f1.8 Sigma lens turned into only a moderate 30mm on the DX cropped D7000, hardly extreme wideangle but just enough.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.