An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

An Awfully Baubly Reflection...

I've been rather sniffy and condescending about other folk's Blips of baubles on their Christmas trees, indoors.

So, me being me I had to find a bigger bauble and get more into my picture, too!

Still suffering from annoying cold symptoms my quest to was visit the Sales, for the first time but feeling shi^, I preferred to try and get pics that conveyed the sense of other shopper's paradise (misery?) with my Tamron SP 70-300mm, on the DX D7000. Wanting something original, but not getting it, by any means and considering how I felt this'll have to do.

It's around dusk and I like the water droplets on the underside, for a start and quite a small aperture (using the lens' VC (vibration compensation feature)) helped get both the glass surface and the background, the outside precinct where this (awful, fake) Christmas "tree", in as much focus as possible. I'd always recommend disabling the autofocus, it may 'hunt' between the two zones of focus and for us seasoned lot, focussing between the points, known as 'hyperfocal' focussing helps spread the depth of field across the field. Sounds complicated? It is to explain, but once learned and utilised, like so many photographic aspects, becomes second nature.

The colour saturation has been upped a bit and cropped on the far left only. "Sale" posters in the adjacent M&S windows add the orangey/red background on the right.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.