BVFL33

By BVFL33

The Wise Ones Watch

Have spent ages on the phone to vets and "so called" rescue services . To date  a reply from a vet ( interested in birds) Only caged house I think .The affected goslings have a 50/ 50 chance but she will only show me how to tape .This I know but live in a flat and to take 2 goslings from parents requires 2 or 3 people and special boxes + transport .i know as have had to do once  when some were full of oil ( in M/C) 
The supposed rescue service here has the gear  but seems  all talk and no action . Hence I think  the goslings are as good as dead . 
Geese and water birds are  herbivores but the general public say bread is fine because mum took them and fed it to ducks. Today I asked a man if he was aware bread was bad for geese and ducks and he said yes & carried on feeding the junk..Honest or cocky ? I took some seedless grapes and they ate these ...Not loads It kept them away from the bread throwers  .Greylag geese love to graze and stick to that This one came to say hello. Praise be for crows who are omnivorous ....they will steal the bread and it's not a threat to them  However ,.birds with a brain , they do prefer shelled peanuts and grapes .
Seems wild  birds and I both have a problem with health care. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.