back in the saddle again

I've been thinking about taking a ride on my Harley since the last week in June. But I was busy with appointments about our flooded basement, or it was too hot, or it was threatening to rain, etc., etc. Then last night (after the fireworks were over), I realized I didn't have anything scheduled for today, and the weather forecast was perfect!
So this morning off I went on one of my favorite routes,  Scenic Byway Route 96 to Westcliff. The route is a two lane road that meanders through prairie land, has hairpin curves over Hardscrabble Pass, and ends in the quaint little mountain town of Westcliff. I always stop at the Amish bakery there for a little snack.
 Instead of turning around to go back home, I looped back along the Arkansas River which is running very high this year and comes very close to the road. Today the river was covered with busloads of people in brightly colored rubber rafts shooting the rapids.
The ride energized all my senses, and was very refreshing! Now I'm ready for the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.