This

By This

Ruby-Tailed Wasp

Early blip today, after much excitement :-)

Spotted some small "fly" with a hint of red and green on the inside of the bedroom window when I opened the curtains, so I got out the macro gear. It was very skittish, but I got a few pictures before depositing it back outside.

Amazed when I saw the pictures. It looks like a jewel! Hence the name. Even more amazed when I realised I'd edited them on the iPad with the screen brightness turned down, and turned it back up.

A Pinterest visual search on my photo revealed what it's called. I discovered it's also known as a cuckoo wasp, as it lays its eggs in other solitary wasp/bees nests, and the larvae eat the resident larvae.

Extras show its face, and the body looking more red than pink. Also double reflections in the double glazing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.