Silchester

I had a great day out with my friend Helen who normally lives in Tanzania, but is visiting England for a few weeks. She’s in Reading for just 5 days and she made time to spend several hours with me! And I made sure I kept the day free to spend with her.

I decided to take Helen to Silchester to walk around the old Roman walls there. The area was first an Iron Age settlement from the late first century BC and was later settled by the Romans after the invasion of Britain in 43 AD. The town was inhabited until about 400 AD when the Roman Empire started to decline. The most visible part of the town are the walls and gates which were built in about 280 AD. There is also the remains of an amphitheatre. Archeological digs continue to take place and I believe they can be viewed by the public but not on a Friday!

It was a hot day but we had shade now and then. We walked along the walls around the whole town, stopping off at the amphitheatre and the church which dates from the 12th and 13th centuries. We had a small picnic in the church grounds before visiting the inside of the church.

By the time we were done with our walk we were tired and thirsty and ready for a cup of tea. So we drove a few miles to the town of Aldermaston and went to the canal-side teashop called ‘The Teapot’. We had a very pleasant hour there, enjoying a pot of tea and some delicious carrot cake with ice cream. We also walked a short way along the Kennet Canal, looking at boats, talking about my narrowboat holiday 3 years ago, and visiting one of the locks. See first Extra photo.

It was a fun day out! I sure wish that Helen lived closer! Please come back soon!

Once I got home I got busy with dinner and then watering my flowers. I spent some time on my ‘pretend front porch’ and witnessed a vibrant sunset! See 2nd Extra photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.