National Meadow’s Day

Two years ago, we talked about putting on a walk to celebrate National Meadow’s day. It came to fruition today when we did a 6 mile walk starting in Charmouth and then finding our way to Hogchester farm for a free ice cream and to visit the wild flower meadows and ponds. We had seen quite a few butterflies before we reached the farm as the sun was shining today and it was warmer than forecast. In exchange for the owner taking photos of us with his one week old drone, I asked him to give us a little chat to tell us how he started the meadows which he did with the help of Dorset Wildlife trust. One field had different soil conditions to the others so the flower range was different, a good day which was finished with some yummy fruit cake. I have a few insect bites to remind me where I have been today and my eyes are rather itchy with all the pollen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.