Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Quantum Physics and Talking Birds

My Grandmother. In her nineties still reading and talking about quantum mechanics and such. She also believed the birds outside her window were talking to her. Maybe after all it's much the same thing.

I'm minded of Keanu Reeves' words when asked by Stephen Colbert what he thinks happen when we die: "I know that the ones who love us will miss us". I do. Even though I was far away, and didn't get to see her that often, it feels wrong to me that she's not there. I think one doesn't really have an idea that one's own family is ever going to change; that people we love will become old and die. Even though she had been getting sicker and more frail, it just felt as though she would always be there, in her house on the cliff top overlooking Kawau Bay, surrounded by her paintings in various stages of beginning/done/re-done/painted-over/evolving. And talking to the birds.

This is the one of her paintings that we have. I think it's utterly wonderful - at the same time very her, and very us.

Purplr; Flickr.

SMC Pentax-DA 35mm f2.4
pentax K-30

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.