Took a Tern

On the spur of the moment, decided to take my daughter up north to a lake that is good for swimming. On the way home, I decided to take a detour to see the bison and how many new calves they have (3). Thought they would be my blip today but then we passed by this little pond and I thought I saw a Belted Kingfisher so pulled over to watch it fish and take a few photos.

It wasn't noisy like a Kingfisher, but was hovering and then doing a swoop instead of a direct dive.  Had me curious as it never landed like Kingfishers do, too.  At one point, a second one joined the first, but seemed to get driven off.  This particular bird managed to catch two small fish before flying off.

I am not positive but pretty sure this is a Black Tern - a first for me.  How odd to see it over a little pond...Great to see though!

Time for bed....Have a great Sunday everyone  : )

D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.