Feeling Groovy

I did it. Not a sub four, unfortunately, nor a personal best, but it was a pretty good time for me. I crossed the line at 4:35 so, after adjustment, I reckon it will be about 4:30. I think I walked, at  most, about 600 meters and I was really pleased with my strong finish, running quite fast for the final three kilometers and flat out for the final kilometer.

Jamie had said that he would meet me at the finish line. He was there but we couldn't find each other so I made my way to the tram to go back to Helensvale where Jamie had dropped me off this morning. I felt fine after the marathon and while walking up to the tram station, but soon after I sat down on a bench on the platform I started to feel woozy. Everything started to fade out, and the next thing I knew a platform attendant was holding up two fingers (politely) and asking me how many fingers I could see. He gave me a bottle of water and a couple of sports gels and thirty seconds later I was back to full consciousness.

The attendant asked me if there was anything he could do for me so I asked him to phone Jamie and ask him to meet me at Helensvale Station. When I got on the tram he asked for someone to give me a seat, which somebody did, and then a kind lady gave me a Kit Kat.

It didn't take Jamie long to arrive at Helensvale Station, and then we went home. A big, hot bubble bath and some food soon had me feeling right as rain.

Yesterday, Jamie and Rachel introduced to the hilarious film Paul starring Simon Pegg. Later, I will return the favour by introducing them to one of mine and Kazuko's favourite films, Galaxy Quest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.