Think, try, share

By JonBusby

Like the Spanish City, when we were kids

I took the kids to Walton Pier today. I love the British seaside resort in all weathers. I love it's tackiness, it's dog eared texture, it's hark back to better days. I love the shops that sell all sorts at bargain prices, some stuff that looks like it has been there before I was born. I was very tempted to buy a canvas beach wind break. Do I need one? No idea. But it struck a chord from my 70's life.

I grew up in Whitley Bay which is a bigger version of Walton. I think that is why Walton resonates with me. We didn't have a pier but we had The Spanish City.

I love the fact that these seaside towns, especially down on the front, have resisted retail globalisation. There are no Starbucks in these parts of these towns.

I love the fact that respectable middle class families mix with chancers, crooks, comedians all wrapped up to keep the chill out.

I love the cold winds off the North Sea and beating a path back to the car, in a gale with a 99. And that wonderful moment when you get in the car and you feel protected from the elements. Even if the car wobbles in the wind you still feel safe.

I remember being in the back seat and 11. I am now in the drivers seat and 46.

The chips? We went to the cafe on the pier. I asked the kids what they wanted.

Chips!

Jinx padlock ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.