Braemar

The weather seemed to bode well for the days after brunch in Aboyne we set out for Braemar. Unfortunately the weather started to deteriorate just as we left Aboyne. Braemar is about 60 miles west of Aberdeen, a small but attractive village not far from Balmoral.

About 5 miles short of Braemar I hit a pothole hidden within a puddle. It was quite a jolt and I immediately felt the car pulling left. On arrival at Braemar we found I had a puncture. Nothing daunted we had a wonder around the village and another brunch at the Fife Arms sitting in front of the fire.

My tyres are supposed to be "run flat" and as it the tyre looked to be OK other than a bit flat we returned to Aberdeen mid afternoon. Steering wheel was juddering a bit and any time I hit the slightest bump the sound was not great. On getting back to Aberdeen we found the tyre had just about given up the ghost, much further and I would have been running on the wheel rims.

Out for an Indian meal, and tomorrow see if I can do something about the wheel. In addition to two new front tyres I am a bit concerned the front wheels may have been knocked out of alignment. I will have to get that checked as well, so I think the car is out of commission until the new year. A bit unfortunate, not the ideal start to the new year!

The photograph is taken in the centre of the village and shows the River Clunie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.