Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

A bit moth-eaten...

...is how the Blackford Pond cygnets look at the moment. They are losing their baby down feathers and getting smoother, more grown-up ones. I love this stage of their development - I can really relate to their teenage awkwardness. I hadn't seen them for two and a half weeks and of course they've changed a lot. Here is my last post.

I saw a coot on the pond for the first time this year - it was up a tree and seemed to be on its own. And there was also a single young little grebe with one parent which are in the extra photo - not much going for the photo, but I've posted it as a reminder. The adult is on the right although the young one looks bigger. The young one was diving for food but also clammering loudly to be fed, so I reckon it was doing OK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.