Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Damselfly

I think - but I'm by no means sure - that this might be a common spreadwing. Books and googling did not conclusively tell me what to call it, but that's what I've settled on for now. The most interesting thing about the photo itself is that I took it with my phone! It's sitting on a leaf of one of my many volunteer tomato plants. I was weeding in the vegetable garden, without my proper camera - which was too bad because there were several things I wanted to photograph, as it turned out (isn't that always the way) - but I managed to get the phone close enough to this little thing to get a decent shot of it! And it is really quite small.

Edit: I have finally found it via Google - it's a southern spreadwing. Even though its wings don't look "spread."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.