I'm going back to the doctors on Friday about my right foot, damaged by a short sharp slip down a climbing wall back in March...  Yes I know, it's a long while ago but I thought my bones were bruised and that can take a long while to right itself. 

Two months later I still couldn't stand on the inside edge of my foot, as in climbing, although climbing outside was ok as long as I didn't have to shove my foot in a crack! There was also sometimes a sharp pain in my second toe and the area was/is slightly swollen. 

I went to the doctors again, who sent me for xray, but nothing showed up and he said it was all age-related arthritis. I was shocked and so didn't say "Yes but that doesn't explain it!"  A week later I visited the podiatrist at my physio's and he said that there's definitely some soft tissue damage and wanted to send me for a scan, privately, but I'm going with the NHS at the moment. 

In preparation for the doctors, this morning I popped to the Climbing Unit in Derby. They allowed me to try my foot on some holds and I'm pleased to say that it's very nearly painless, so one bit of my foot is healing. But there's still slight swelling and pain in my second toe if I stand on tiptoe or stretch my foot. 

Walking doesn't hurt, although I expect the doctor will query the C2C, but I hope something can be done - I need my feet to be right!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.