late shift

9.30pm and this bumble bee was still hard at work. So was D - he had been at a Community Council meeting so was just getting around to doing the washing up after a late dinner. I had cooked Courgette fritters but I think they were too salty (tasty but salty). Need to work on the recipe...

The white-tailed bumble bees have a nest in the woodshed - I've seen them flying in and out when I'm stacking logs. They like these rather unspectacular white flowers which are very popular with all kinds of bees and butterflies. The more I spend time gardening, the more I realise that we are doing it for the bees, the birds and the insects, so we are cutting less of the grass and cultivating more wild areas. Don't come to our place expecting neat and tidy flowerbeds, but come to enjoy the wildlife :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.