janetconboy1

By imagine_snappy

Fungus as Flower—Fake Views

Took a short hike with Ian, visiting from Columbia, Missouri. A beautiful, warm day crying out for a shot or two. We chose to do Blowing Springs Loop because there were no steep inclines. I was a bit conservative since my hip is often funky. Carried G2 Gatorade and my camera in a backpack.

Ian is a streaming encyclopedia, talking about Leica’s origins, The Invisible Man Book, writings of Tolstoy and Donald Trump’s brilliant business strategies. Being behind him, I really couldn’t hear most of it.

The most interesting bit of flora I encountered was the small orange fungus which masqueraded as a flower. It’s known as an orange peel fungus. I’d never seen one before. I took particular note in anticipation of constructing a herbarium.

Well, I had to cheat, covering a half-Mike off the route. Just not used to hiking four miles with extra weight.

BLT’s for lunch and a much needed nap were the highlight of our home coming! Whew.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.