The sun continues to rise

And I continue to run early enough to see it. The Mayan Calendar stopped ten days ago. Today is the last day of the current calendar year. The world and all around it continues regardless of humankind's measurements, names and imagined ability to control it.

I enjoy the sunrises I see over the water. Especially here.

Just been called to watch a kereru, so I'll post this.

LATER.

I imagine this is the same kereru that I blipped three days ago. It showed the same behaviour of first landing in the pohutukawa, and then moving to the mahoe for a feed of berries. A lovely close view, through branches and leaves.

So much is made of the turn of the year. I also enjoy the participation. Sadly, after thinking she could join us with her boys, daughter C had transport problems, and is not here. To mark the end of the year, I had cleaned the BBQ and was declared chief (only) meat and mushroom cook. Mushrooms were chopped large and sauted in olive oil with salt, pepper and basil. The free range pork sausages were tasty, and cooked with minimal charring.

Meanwhile, S produced kumara chips and a wonderful beetroot salad with walnuts and feta as well as the lettuce. Another meal on the deck, and then the visit from a kereru.

Good omens for the coming year.

I wish all who visit my journal a happy and successful (in your own terms) year ahead.

PS I meant to encourage looking at this in large as not only is the boat more readily seen, the two herons to the right of the boat become visible. Mostly as reflections in the shallow water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.