Steers; NOT in Scotland

When I woke this morning the weather appeared only marginally better than yesterday's wind and rain. The wind was not as strong in the bigger gusts, and there were some periods of no rain. I went out on my run, carrying the wee compact in a plastic bag (in view of the heavy rain of yesterday, and actually didn't need it as there were only a few brief periods of gentle rain. (Later in the morning there were some very heavy falls.)

Went through Highfield Reserve to Mahurangi East Road out along the ridge towards the end of the peninsula. As it happens, the same way I went a year ago (I have just discovered). But increased fitness meant that I went a little further; to where I took this.

On the way there I passed a field in which were some steers; photographed the other day, but not blipped, as Pouncing tiger took my fancy. They were quite a way off and the photo lacked punch. On the way back, they had moved themselves closer to the road, and I was able to get this picture.

A quiet morning of Saturday newspaper, puzzles, and then preparation for lunch (as assistant to S). Daughter C, with her husband and sons, came north and were followed a little later by daughter J. We all enjoyed a magnificent S made quiche with Christmas ham, and salad. The afternoon became less and less cloudy, and at 4 I took the boys to the beach, with the able assistance of their mother's cousin N.

A lovely time in slightly rough water, until Young L switched from full on enjoyment to massive shivering; there was a cold wind over the water. Back up the cliff path, farewelled J (C and husband had gone before the beach trip), and settled the boys to various activities.

I started to access blipfoto to put up my blip, and was joined by Young L who wanted to see what I was doing. So as I accessed "My Journal", and started the process of uploading a photo, I talked about what I was doing. I told him that the little bar filling in was showing the progress of my computer sending an image all the way to Scotland in less than 30 seconds. His response "Unreal!" The next thing was to pick a title; his choice was "Scotland!" He accepted my adaptation to the above title.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.