Plus ça change...

By SooB

Low hanging fruit

I pruned lots of grapes off the vine a week ago, but I’m not sure I did a good enough job. My Mam reminded me of advice on some gardening show we watched that you should chop off half the grapes, then have a cup of tea, forget the earlier pruning, and do it again. I need to be bolder. The grapes are quite seedy, so if they’re not given the chance to get big, they’re not great to eat.

Lots of work today, including two things that hurt my head. What also hurt my head was the carbon monoxide alarm going off, even though we have no relevant appliances on at the mo. Obviously, as soon as I realised it was that and not the smoke alarm I felt dizzy and had a headache. I have logicked my way out of panic and ordered a better quality detector.

Also made some amendments to the rabbits litter tray, made hobnobs and granola (washed hands in between), started another knitted cushion and a sewing task. Mr B will be delighted when he finds how many cushions I have added to the house while he’s been away. He may never leave the house again...

Good chat with a neighbour, who is our community leader just now. He has told the daft neighbours that they have no right to cross my garden. Reassuring, but I’d still like it in writing.

Meanwhile, the future PM showed again again again what an arse he is. Why am I even a little bit surprised? I am somewhat irritated that he has made me grudgingly respect John Major. Who knew we’d ever see him as a paragon of erudite parliamentary behaviour? Living in the upside-down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.