Plus ça change...

By SooB

Tube ants

An eventful day, but I’m tired so there’ll be no long write up.

Here is one of TallGirl’s ant colonies. Early days. I have been trusted with the queen, eight workers (I counted them all out and I counted them all back) and numerous eggs and pupae. Today I gifted them a bigger fly than usual, which prompted lots of crazy ant chat (leg grabbing - it really is like they’re grabbing a pal by the shoulders and shouting “you have to come, there’s something massive and I think it’s food”), the dragging of the fly to the queen for her approval, and the slow dismemberment of it. Tomorrow TallGirl is back in charge and she can deal with getting all the legs out (they don’t eat legs).

Also, TallGirl’s two last days of driving lessons this week are cancelled as another pupil broke the car. This realistically means no test in two weeks, and lots of wasted airfares and hotel rooms.

Mr B has bought a new-to-us car and is currently in Northern France with the car full of Walkers crisps and decent paint.

CarbBoy bought a polo shirt.

My lovely shiny, complicated, new camera arrived, but the gods of fate trampled on my joy by breaking my iMac in a way that the internet couldn’t fix. Happily the localish chain of Mac repairers just opened a shop in our town. He is hopeful he can fix it.... If I hadn’t just spent all my fun money on a camera i don’t really need, I could just have bought a new one...

All of which made work rather complicated.

But I did have a good relaxing lunch with a friend, and the kids are home tomorrow so I won’t have to talk to the rabbits any more.

(Ok, medium length write up)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.