K9tam

By K9tam

In need of TLC.

This is a section of the Rothschild Bridge, built by the family to enable them to cross the canal from one side of their estate to the other. The initials of Baron Arthur de Rothschild appear in the railings. The bridge was renovated in 1992 by RAF Halton. I think it’s in need of another ‘make over’. I've walked over and under it many, many times over the years. Even ridden my horse over it several times. Happy memories. I wonder what will happen to it once the camp is sold off.

On childcare for the second morning in a row. Loving the little conversations I have with Franky on these days. Today as we were leaving he asked for gel in his hair - He's 4 1/2!! I let him put a bit in, then he put on his helmet for his scooter ride to school. He said we need to take the gel to school. "No" I said. I was then informed that the helmet would muck his hair up, he took it off and said "See, I told you". We arrive at school, and he insisted on a fresh layer of gel. He wants his hair spikey "Like Oscar's". Franky's hair is curly and wild, Oscar's is thick, short, straight and easily spiked, but there was no hope of explaining that to him! Hair suitably scrunched up he said he needed a mirror and tried to see his reflection in the handle bar of his scooter. He looked up at me and asked if he looked 'cool'. "Ofcourse you do" was my reply, hoping he wasn't going to find a mirror any time soon.

Another conversation I had with him today - Franky's Dad is a firefighter, and our way to school Franky informed me that there were 3 fire stations in the world, I said there were many more than that. His reply was "No, three, One in America, one in Norfolk (Norfolk???- bit random) and the one that his Daddy works in". Priceless!

And while I'm writing about Franky quotes I've got to mention this one from a while back. He wanted to ride his bike to school but I said I couldn't manage to carry it back. He said it wouldn't be a problem as Daddy could pick it up on his way home from work. All I had to do was "Ring Daddy at work, it's 999 and he'll pick it up". I'm sure the emergency services would appreciate that call!!!

It's moments like these that make being a hands on grandparent worthwhile. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.