flavia13

By flavia13

ORTON FELL

I had decided to back to Appleby today as the weather was nicer and I wanted to walk along by the River Eden.  Hubby didn't like the thought of me doing that on my own so insisted on coming with me - which is lovely anyway.

We just did a lovely gentle circular stroll, crossing two bridges.  A lot of birdlife to be found.  One looked as if he was literally skipping across the water, such fun to watch.  We then had lunch in The Hub in Appleby - which was superb.  Must take G there is as it has shelves of secondhand books, homemade soup and sandwiches made with homemade bread and apple crumble - many of his favourite things. 

We decided to head home after this so I could stop on Orton Fell to take photos of the glorious views.  Hubby was also expecting a delivery of a water butt ready for his new shed.  It was supposed to have been delivered last week, but Wilko's lost the order!!??  

Orton Fell, I believe, falls within the extended Yorkshire Dales National Park, but the town of Appleby and the village of Orton which this falls inbetween are both in Cumbria.

It was beautiful up there.  Many lovely meadow flowers and I saw a few butterflies.  I only managed to capture one and as I had my wide angle lens on it's not the best of photos.  It is in the extras.  My knowledge of butterflies is limited but could this be a meadow brown??  The poor thing looks pretty beaten about but he was fluttering well.

Orton Fell

only 30 minutes after getting home (about 3.00pm) Rob's water butt arrived at long last  yeah.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.