Last beach walk of the year

11C starting with wind strong enough to close the Tay bridge to high sided vehicles. Wind decreasing by early afternoon. Bright.

Maeve the Deerhound and I went round our usual route after lunch.
Up the road to the church, and down the field with the bridle path.
Along the cycle path to the gate in the little field.
Over the level crossing and down onto the beach.
Along the beach to the Fishermen's huts at Westhaven.
Along past the cottages in East Row then over railway by the road bridge.
Round to the main road in and out of Carnoustie.
Half a mile up the main road, then turn right and half a mile home.

I took some pictures of the beach and the sea.
There was no one at the huts.
There were some people and three dogs on the beach.

I stood with Maeve by the seat that looks out over the sea and had a think about all the things that have happened this year.
Spring and Autumn holidays in mid Argyll.
Late Spring and summer in Ullapool. Making prints.
Spending some time on the Orcadian island of Hoy and being in the place where my paternal grandfather was born and lived his early years. My father never went to Orkney. I don't remember ever asking him why.

I am very lucky to be able to walk on a beach and enjoy being beside the sea with Maeve. Before we left the beach today I wished she had been with us on Hoy. She would have loved the beach between Linksness and the Bu :-)
We have an invitation to return !

Later it will be 2013 !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.