Lordington Lavender

Today was the day for the annual visit to the lavender fields, but this time I wanted to go to Lordington Lavender near Chichester as I've never been here before.  I picked up Colette and then we went to the station to pick up Marianna and we set off on the hour and half drive.  Luckily the traffic getting there wasn't too bad and we arrived at 11am.  

It was Colette's 50th birthday last week, so we took a picnic with prosecco (although I could only have a little as I was driving) and we found a spot at the side of the field and left our things as we wandered through the lavender taking photos.  It's not a very big field, but it was lovely and even though it was very busy there was plenty of room to get photos without people  in the background.  Of course we enjoyed watching the children and this little girl caught my eye as her mum was getting her to walk up the rows of lavender so she could take her photo.

We were there about 4 hours and I took over 400 photos, but I've managed to get them down to 200!

Our journey home wasn't so good and despite leaving at 3pm in the hope of missing the Friday afternoon traffic, it took 2.5 hours to get home.  Alan had got in just before me, so we went and sat in the garden and had a glass of prosecco before taking Xena and Joren to ViP our local Italian restaurant. We had a nice meal with them before they caught the bus into town = they had tickets for the club that Xena went to last week, but she wasn't sure if they'd go because she was tired and also she said it's not the kind of music that Joren likes.  It's his last night though as he goes home tomorrow, so I'm sure they'll have fun whatever they decide.

Happy weekend to you all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.