Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Naidoc week

I noticed the grain silos lit up earlier this week and it has taken me until tonight to work out the colours are yellow (for the sun) red (for the earth) and black (for the aboriginal people), the colours of the Aboriginal flag and obviously would be for Naidoc week.  We had some bush tucker at work on Wednesday and watched a tedx talk by Bruce Pascoe the author of Dark Emu.  If you are interested it is on youtube here.  I heard him interviewed on the radio talking about other things and what a lovely and interesting man he was too.

Aside from that, no blip yesterday because the internet was down.  What!!!!!!!!  That has never happened before and I am blaming the Japanese woman's rugby team who played Australia this afternoon.  Oh and the Wallaroos won convincingly.  Poppy and I visited the nursing this morning and then this evening she and Hamish were walked.  Hamish nearly tripped over a rabbit who did a double take and took off quickly followed by Poppy.  I am sure it got safely away from her but she was able to burn off some of those biscuits she was given at the Nursing home which was a good thing.

I hope you are all having a good weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.