Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Whale tales

I went to Fingal Bay this morning as they were doing their human whale for 2019.  The extra is the line up.  How it works is that there is a rough outline of a whale marked on the sand and then we all go and stand in a line using the markers for guides and we form a human whale. We broke a record this year with over 1,400 people.  Best viewed from the air.   I am hoping they send me a link to the drone shot that was taken and I will let you have a look at that so that you get the idea.  I then took the hounds to Boat Harbour, nearby, which is a better viewing spot than Fingal Bay for whales.  I would have seen over 20.  A huge family group of about 5, two breaches, one fin slap and several tail slaps, see the second extra.  The main blip is about three frames into the breach.  Alas the first two were not well enough focused for my liking.  There were two other breaches that I missed and was alerted to them by the cheers of onlookers.  So while there are strong winds again today and rather a large swell, it didn't seem to worry the whales.

Well that's the weekend nearly over, I hope you have all had a good one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.