2011 photo resolution

By karenanya

Natural fireworks

Braved the wet and wind to visit a new nature reserve today. Didn't quite get there but ended up on a circular walk around the Kennet and Avon canal at Theale. Not surprisingly, it was very muddy, wet and soggy. The canal was extremely high and it looked as if some earthworks had been done to try and stop the canal from bursting its banks.

As we followed the path away from the canal, we came across a bridge that was completely surrounded by floodwater - we needed a bridge to get to it! Luckily, with waterproof walking boots and long strides, we managed to reach the bridge and keep on track for a circular walk rather than having to retrace our steps.

Apart from a couple of dog walkers and a cyclist, we had the walk to ourselves. We did find the nature reserve eventually but by then it was raining quite heavily so we decided to return on a better day. Looks interesting though - lots of water birds and a hide.

Sat and watched the rain beating against the windows for most of the afternoon. Looks as if both sons will be out with friends this evening, so we could have a quiet night in. I'm going to be interviewed by my local radio station again tomorrow morning on the subject of 'New Year's resolutions' so I can't have too much 'fun' this evening. I went there in February ( BBC Radio Berkshire blip) to celebrate reaching 365 blips last year and they rang me a few weeks ago to see if I was still going. Hopefully, that means that tomorrow's blip should be in the bag!

I liked the shapes these thistle heads made - they almost look like a series of firework explosions (well to my eyes anyway!).

Thanks for all the comments on yesterday's blip - I had forgotten the leap day that we had this year and so thought today would be my 730th.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.