Union Station, Denver

Since I moved away from Denver 27 years ago, there has been huge urban development and renewal in the city, especially in the Lower Downtown area (known as LoDo) and around Union Station - loft conversions, new hotels, restaurants, high-rise condos and baseball’s Coors Field. It’s been very exciting to see all these developments over the years.

I found myself at Union Station this afternoon as I was catching a train to the airport - also built since I moved away. The ‘new’ airport (now 25 years old) is a 45 minute drive from the city. Until 3 years ago, the only public transport was a bus service. Denver’s Light Rail network (also new!) was finally extended to the airport in 2016. Here at Union Station you can find Amtrak trains to both the east or west coast, or can catch a Light Rail or a city bus to various Denver neighbourhoods, including the airport.

This is the new part of Union Station, opened in 2014. The old Union Station building can be seen peeking through the opening in the roof. That older building was built exactly 100 years earlier in 1914 and was beautifully refurbished in recent years. It’s a must-see place in Denver with its own hotel and numerous bars, restaurants and shopping. The central hall of the station is a comfortable place to hang out and has been referred to as ‘Denver’s Living Room’

Although I’ll be in Denver for most of July, this evening I was flying off to Michigan where I’m going to a family reunion for a few days. And then I’ll be back!

I’m still catching up with blips - scroll back if you want as I’ve just posted 3 in the last day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.