AGBPhotography

By AGBPhotography

Wild Water Flowers

Well its been a very Silly Saturday and demonstrated to me the importance of forward planning.
Initial plan was to get up about 7.30 then visit various places by bus, but silly me forgot to set my alarm and didn't wake up until nearly 9.30 :o and by the time I actually got out the door it was nearly 11.00.
My first planned destination was an area near Newton Abbot Racecourse that runs along the disused Stover Canal hoping to spot some wildlife. Along my walk there approximately a four mile round trip I saw a few Common Plodders, several Heavy Rapid Plodders and quite a few Metallic Si Clysts. On my return trip I even heard the loud excited calls of a group of juvenile Common Plodders on the opposite side of the canal but they were hidden by the trees. There was little in the fur or feather covered types of wildlife, a few butterflies (mainly meadow browns I think) an Emperor Dragonfly and Beautiful Demoiselle neither settled long enough to snap.
My next plan was to walk the estuary down to Teignmouth but couldn't as the footpath was closed due to horse racing at the Newton Abbot Racecourse apparently they own the land and the footpath is a permissive path. So I decided to walk the Shaldon side of the estuary, about half way after snapping a few swans, geese and egrets (all either too far away or only mediocre shots) my route was blocked by a fallen holly tree and had to turn round and head back home.
The two flower shots Water Lily (bottom) and what I think is a Water Iris (top) and possibly my two best shots of a silly day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.