AGBPhotography

By AGBPhotography

Red Veined Darter

Another day out spotting dragonflies, this time in Torquay around the Cockington area. After spotting a few Beautiful Demoiselles as I walked through Cockington Meadow I headed up to see what was around the lakes. Plenty of damsel flies (mainly Common Blues) and about three pairs of Emperor Dragonflies. Only one or two of my photos were 'satisfactory', I couldn't get one of the Emperors in flight as they wouldn't stay still long enough. So I decided to go back to the duckpond to see how the moorhens were doing, sadly one of the chicks fell from the nest into the water and whist dad was trying to feed and protect it a big black backed gull swooped in and grabbed it.
After leaving the duckpond I headed along the seafront towards town, as I was passing the other duckpond at the town end of the seafront I spotted a little flash of red, on further investigation I spied about half a dozen Red Veined Darters flying around. This was possibly my best shot of today and a suitable subject for Tiny Tuesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.