WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Gone fishing

It's funny how some days you can have difficulty choosing a blip because you're not happy with any of your photos -- while other days you have exactly the opposite problem. I had a hard time today whittling down to two.

After seeing off R, H, and A this morning, we went to the coast with J, to see a few places she hadn't visited yet. The first stop was Fornells, a very small place which now consists of just a hotel and a few houses clustered round a tiny harbour. The light was so glorious and the scenery so beautiful that I photographed nearly everything I saw.

This photo became the people's choice because we agreed that it was lovely to see children indulging in an age-old activity with no modern fripperies and no adult supervision. These two boys had just headed down to the harbour with their nets, no-one saying, "You'll fall in." "You'll get your clothes dirty." "You can't go on your own." The photo seems almost timeless; there's nothing modern here to distract the eye.

My personal very close second choice was this one, one of those photos that I inexplicably love at first sight, without being able to say why. I even like the cable, which seems perfectly in tune with the scene :) I made a Flickr set of some of my other photos from Fornells.

Afterwards we stopped in Tamariu for coffee and croissants in our usual bar. Then we headed across country to Monells and had lunch on the square, reacquainting ourselves with a very fine cat -- well, several cats actually since I was too weak-willed not to give the hungrier looking ones bits of my omelette.

We're planning a quiet night in this evening, with a low-key meal of smoked salmon followed by sea bass and a little something for pudding, not sure what yet. Happy New Year, blipmates!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.