West Quoddy Head Lighthouse

Shrouded in fog on a beautiful day, my favorite lighthouse stands striped and indistinct from the rocky beach below.

My great great great great grandfather, Ebenezer Wormell was a keeper there and later my great great great grandfather, Loring Leavitt was an assistant keeper. My grandmother Nora grew up on the South Lubec road that leads to the lighthouse in the late 1890s. It's an absolutely beautiful area.

It was so foggy near there that we couldn't see Grand Manan Island, N.B, Canada across the channel. I took this shot from the rocky beach below the light. There are lovely wooded trails too, it's one of my favorite places to visit over and over.

For the Record,
This day came in foggy, but cleared up with sun and blue skies unless you were near the coast in Lubec!

Facts about the lighthouse

All hands enjoyed the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.