Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Empty

This is the chair where my grandmother used to sit and paint.

It's empty now.

It was a wrench to enter her workroom at all, and seeing her empty chair was a real hit to the gut.

On Flickr.

Her funeral was beautiful, and very much her. We held it at her home. Her coffin was plain - or started so. In front of it were paintbrushes and paint, and everyone there painted something on it for her (I added a couple of little things for my little ones: a crying eye as Missy-moo tends to draw, and a car as the lad tends).

I wasn't sure I got out anything audible (other than choking sobs) but I'm told I did. Everybody was moved and moving.

Another pic is of one of the paintings she was working on up until three weeks or so ago, intending it for the exhibition she was planning; her third.

Incomplete

SMC Pentax-DA 35mm f2.4
Pentax K-30

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.