Mistress Of The Deep Web

When I put the macro lens on my camera I get into the 'zone'. I'm scanning my surroundings for incongruities and signs of movement. I caught sight of a grasshopper that was struggling in a spider's web, shortly afterwards the spider appeared and repeatedly jumped onto the hapless grasshopper, its favourite prey. A female labyrinth spider I think, it didn't have 'boxing gloves'. In my image she is sitting at the entrance to her tunnel which leads into her silken maze. The remains of her previous meals can be seen in the foreground. I blipped one of these spiders in 2014 in almost exactly the same position on a sunny bank between two blocks of glasshouses. 

After lunch Ollie dog and I went hunting for the willow emerald damselfly. When we didn't have much luck I amused myself trying to shoot drone flies in flight. They were buzzing around at my head height. I was amazed when Ollie joined in. She kept jumping into the air and trying to catch them with a loud snap of her jaws. She succeeded once. :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.