Colstro

By Colstro

The wonders of modern technology

This is not the most exciting photograph I've ever taken. To be honest, Tesco's is not the most exciting place.

However, what I did find exciting was the technology built into modern phones. My new smartphone has an 8MP camera (that's as many pixels as my first DSLR - though of course the overall quality comes nowhere near. Still - 8MP!). The camera also has a built in panorama mode. Just click the shutter and wave the camera around, and it automatically takes several still frames and stitches them together in camera. OK, you can sometimes see the joins (depending how you wave the phone around during the exposure) and moving subjects within the frame (such as Tesco's shoppers) can become ghost like, or lose limbs, or suffer other deformities. However, to achieve this degree of sophistication in the tiny unit built into the phone is quite extraordinary.

I will still get my DSLR out when I want the best quality, and I hope I won't give up carrying my compact camera around at other times, as the quality it produces can sometimes give the DSLR a run for its money. But, when all else fails, the phone will always be with me, so I can capture some sort of image.

I love technology! (Am I a geek?)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.