MONO MONDAY - LOW KEY

Mr. HCB has gone to cricket in Cheltenham on his own today, as sadly his cricket buddy, Keith, has eye trouble and didn’t think it would be wise to sit in the sun all day but hopefully he will be able to go tomorrow.  A shame really, as I’m sure they would have enjoyed chatting about the England win yesterday in the ICC World Cup.  What a great finish - we were both on the edge of our seats!

I had to look up the definition of High Key and Low Key for today’s Mono Monday challenge and am still not sure I have understood it properly or done this right!  However, I decided to wander round the garden to see if I could get some reasonable shots and this one would be classed, I believe, as low key.

It’s a hollyhock that Mr. HCB has grown from seed - obviously because it’s mono, you can’t see that it is a pale yellow colour, but I thought it looked quite beautiful, swaying in the wind, with the pale yellow of the flowers and the lime green of the leaves looking good against our blue fence.  I decided not to put a colour shot in as an extra but let you use your imagination.  However, I am so glad that I don't live in a "mono" world!

I was up quite early so have done some clearing out of paperwork, which is always a good feeling.  I was planning to do some housework, but have decided instead to do some gardening - think that will do my soul more good!

“Photography isn’t about seeing,
     it’s about feeling.
If I don't have some kind of feeling 
     for what I'm shooting, 
          how can I expect the person who looks at it 
               to feel anything?”
Don McCullin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.