BEAUTIFUL GIFTS FROM PAKISTAN

I was delighted when I heard the post come through my door today, to find that there was a package from my lovely friend, Marylou, who lives in Pakistan.  She has a friend over there who comes back to visit his mother in England, so she gave him a gift to send to me - it is much cheaper to do it this way, and it is also a more reliable postal service.  I know we grumble about Royal Mail, but I have sent several things to overseas friends, including Marylou, that just never arrived.

This morning I was delighted to open the envelope and found two beautiful cushion covers, the designs on which are similar to a lovely table runner Marylou sent me a couple of years ago.  They are so colourful and every time I see them, I will remember my friend.  I have put a photograph in as an extra, so that you can see how good they look on our sofa.  

According to Marylou, the pot holders have a traditional Sindhi design, called “ajrak”, Sindhi being the province of Pakistan where Marylou lives, the special designs and patterns are made using stamped block printing.  

I have sent a gift, through Michael, to Marylou, but as yet, haven’t heard that she has received it, so can’t say on here what it is, otherwise it will spoil the surprise for her, as I know she reads my Blips!

Another “wonder” of Blip is that Marylou and I “met” on here, but have never met in person, although we are hoping that we will one day.  The card that she wrote on is a hand-embroidered one of a traditional design by women of Pakistan and it says on the reverse that “Card sales support needy Pakistani women and literacy efforts among their people”.

I have thanked Marylou in a private message, but want to thank her again, for thinking of me/us and sending such beautiful gifts - I only hope she likes what I have chosen for her! 

“Everyone is capable of giving 
     and receiving a blessing.” 
Pam Malow-Isham : Brilliant Words to Grow By: A Devotional Celebrating the Duality of Life

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.