ABSTRACT THURSDAY - COLOURFUL

Having said yesterday that Mr. HCB didn’t feel like gardening, I knew it wouldn’t be long before he was out in the garden again and true enough, before 9 a.m. this morning he was out there, pottering about.

We had about 15 new plants to go in, so he was anxious to get them in before it got too warm out there - not that there is much chance of that, as it’s rather a dull day again today.  I must admit that I do miss planting out and getting down with my hands in the soil - but with my knees, I just can’t do it now.  It’s a good job one of us can still kneel.

I had intended to sort out my emails this morning as I have almost 200 in my inbox, but before 9 a.m. I had a video call from a friend, to tell me his father had died, so I ended up chatting to him and his wife for sometime, which is fine - emails can wait, but friends can’t, especially when they need some comforting words.

Just heard from our son in Vietnam that he had bought a football for some lads near to where he lives and they had enjoyed a game on a very claggy and muddy field.  At the end of the game, and after a huge thunderstorm, he said he turned a corner in a muddy back street, when two boys attempted to give the football back to him, but via Google Translate (which is a wonderful tool) he was able to tell them it was a gift.   We are so fortunate to be able to buy just what we want so I felt quite touched by this, but I do remember that when we visited our son over there a couple of years ago, although the people are often very poor, they would give you anything.  A lesson for us all.

I decided to take a shot of Mr. HCB in the garden and then turn it into an abstract for today, doing some fartnarkling with my Painteresque app, which I love.  Whilst it is doing the processing messages come up that say, “Narrying the Gwembits, Magic scrooberising, Looking backward and Quick Nip” - and it always makes me smile when I see these!  :-)   I have also put in an extra of Mr. HCB doing his stuff.  The sun keeps peeping through so he will need to finish soon because it will be too hot out there.

Ah well, better get back to those emails - have had 10 more since I last looked!  I found this poem and loved these lines from it, and this reminded me of a song, "English Country Garden" by Jimmie Rodgers.

“Our England is a garden, and such gardens are not made
     By singing:--"Oh, how beautiful!" and sitting in the shade…..
Oh, Adam was a gardener, and God who made him sees
     That half a proper gardener's work is done upon his knees,
So when your work is finished, you can wash your hands and pray 
      For the Glory of the Garden, that it may not pass away!”
Rudyard Kipling : The Glory of the Garden

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.