Glasgow with the Family

I went through to Glasgow early this morning to meet up with my Elgin family who are there while Finlay attends a summer course at the piping school.

I had forgotten this was Glasgow Fair Monday and the bus station at Buchanan Street was awash with older couples in full holiday gear- bare legs, very short skirts, minimalist strappy tops all in pastel colours for the women and Hawaiin shirts and baggy shorts for the men. They all looked so happy and in holiday mode, that I had to smile. I couldn’t help thinking that it was like the good old days when the Glasgow folk left the city at Fair time to go ‘doon the watter’ to Rothesay.

We also met up with the Glasgow family in Paper Chase which is a magnet for young girls but a bit boring for 5 year olds. I thought the contrast between a very tall Donald Dewar and a very bored small Ewan was quite funny.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.