A Day in York

I was out jaunting again today- this time to York to meet up with our friends from the Indian Rail journey 5 years ago. They come north from Chichester every year to holiday in Thirsk and HL and I were in the habit of going down to stay a few days near them. We only managed a day last year, and so as not to break the tradition, I went myself this year.

We had an action packed day after an initial restorative coffee. There was a trip on the river Ouse, a walk round the city walls, a lovely lunch in a cool café out of the heat and glare of the sun (yes at last, summer had arrived in York), a slow amble through part of the Shambles and the market ( did I think Edinburgh was crowded?) before the obligatory ice cream on a bench near the Minster.

There were several blips begging to be posted but the one that won somehow reminded me of Bruges, but don’t ask me why. I have put two selfies on as extras- my sunglasses getting their first outing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.