Silkie

I am a man upon the land,
I am a silkie in the sea,
And when I'm far and far from land,
My home it is the sule skerrie."


An incredibly sad song but one that came to mind as I went for my afternoon swim. It was grey and still and there was not another soul around. I swam out and suddenly heard a splash behind me! A seal popped his head out and took a good look and we admired each other from afar - I even sang to him a little. He wasn't impressed.
Listen to this beautiful and mournful rendering by Joan Baez


How nice to be at home. I've caught up with emails, pootled in the garden, read the papers, coffeed with TJ and have yet to organise my Irish thoughts. Skype with New Zealand shortly too. 


Himself had a great time on his writing course - 14 of them took the ferry to Whiddy and he pronounced it good. His tutor is Adam Weymouth who has done all sorts of exciting things from walking on a pilgrimage route from England to Istanbul to kayaking down the Yukon. Who knows what might happen on Whiddy!


A high key offering for Mono Monday - the swimming beach - the silkie had just popped under!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.