Severn

So, Day 1 of my latest bus pass adventure. The original plan was to start from Bristol, but having done my research, it seemed too complicated so I decided to start my journey in Gloucester. I arrived here by train early this afternoon, checked into my accommodation (very nice, central, haunted by Lady Jane Grey, and handy for the bus station) then had a wander round the city, and went down to the quays. I have no regrets at starting my adventure here. Very impressed by Gloucester - it is clean, well signposted and the historic blends surprisingly well with the modern. The gentrified quays are very pleasant. There is also an impressive selection of gulls. I had a drink outside a café in the warm sunshine and later a meal at one of my favourite restaurants before returning to my hotel for an early night in readiness for the start of my adventure proper tomorrow. I’ll be heading North, hoping to reach Shrewsbury by the end of the day. A couple of extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.