Water

Update: I said a long time back I'd put up a photo of the partial eclipse of the moon. This was nearly at its fullest.

Yesterday, taking advantage of the cool weather I got out pick and shovel and poked around at our dry spring at the bottom of the hill. Later I dug a few sods out of the soggy pond bottom below it.

It is very dense blue-grey clay full of willow and poplar roots. There is some water there. I did a flow test and initially thought it might be producing 400 litres a day but that now seems very optimistic. But I will persevere with my studies.

With a decent pump we could push the water to the top of our land when the flow is strong in the winter and store in a series of tanks or perhaps a cistern.

By now the gastric ailment that announced itself yesterday had developed into a debilitating nausea and at six I retired to bed.

The partial eclipse of the moon did its thing in the cool, cloudless and absolutely clear sky. I’ll post a photo when I feel up to sitting at the computer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.