Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

My 20 Year Pin

My 20-year badge arrived recently. For some reason the college recognizes, acknowledges, and celebrates employees one year after their actual anniversary on significant years such as 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, and yes, 40. I am actually about to conclude my 21st year of fulltime teaching here at RCCD.

It was actually 22 years ago today that I was offered the position of fulltime instructor in the English Department. For this former high school dropout, it was an unbelievable moment.  The memory still gives me the chills and causes me to blink back tears.

Six years previous to being offered the job I had accompanied our 19-year-old son to the community college to help him enroll; with hindsight I realized that what he wanted was my wallet. While at the campus helping him decipher the "Class Schedule," I caught college fever in a serious way. I had an unexplainable sense the entire time I was at the campus that day that I was supposed to enroll too.

So I came home and told Mr. Fun. He was an immediate "yes!" So I enrolled without asking or telling my employer. Then I asked for permission and said I'd work all my hours and get my job done. My main boss agreed (a few others who I worked along side weren't so sure). I had enrolled in 4 classes that met on Monday/Wednesday and Friday mornings.

The first morning of classes, I managed well through the first three class sessions and then the fourth class, Mass Communications, started with the instructor asking the students to one-by-one introduce themselves. She started on the far side of the classroom from where I was sitting.  So by the time my turn arrived, I was thoroughly nervous, but told a bit about myself -- that I had a fulltime job, that I was there because of my 19 year old son, that I wasn't sure what I wanted to major in.

When that class session concluded, before I could even stand-up out of my desk, a gal approached from behind me and boldly said, "Lady, go home and quit your job. Do this school thing fulltime. You'll never regret it."

I don't even remember what my response what to her. Before the semester was over, I had quit my fulltime job and I had become best friends with Mae, who had advised me that first morning. She had crammed 2 years of community college into 18 years and didn't want me to do the same. At the end of that semester Mae graduated and nothing has ever filled my tank with enthusiasm as that commencement ceremony had. Wow!

The next semester I enrolled in my first college English class. I've always loved writing and it was there that I decided that I wanted to teach college English fulltime. That settled it; I had decided on a major and I never waivered.

I graduated in two years with my Associate's Degree, transferred to the university, earned my Bachelor's Degree in another two years, and enrolled in the university's Graduate Program in English Composition. Two years later on the morning of June 4th, I had my degree within reach as I sat in the office of the President of Riverside Community College, Dr. Chuck Kane.

Earlier that winter I was introduced to the head of the personnel department; as I submitted my resume and application to her, she assured me very politely that I didn't have a chance of getting the position in the English Department. She explained that I would be competing with others who had Ph.D.s and numerous years of teaching to their credit. I would have a Master's Degree and one year of part-time teaching right there at RCC where I had earned my Associate's Degree. I thanked her and tried to shake off the disappointment and discouragement.

As my interview began in Dr. Chuck Kane's office that June morning, he simply asked me why I should have the job. I started talking and in 20 minutes had told him that I had been a high school dropout, that RCC had welcomed me 19 years later, and that I wanted to be part of that for others by teaching. Before I could finish, Dr. Kane reached across his desk with his right hand to shake my hand and offer me a position in the English department.

In that moment, I lost my breath and blurted-out, "I can't believe this is happening!" He jumped up from his desk, walked toward me, put his arm around my shoulders and said, "You can believe it; we want people just like you teaching in our classrooms." Then he walked me out of his office and to the desk of the head of the personal department, where he introduced me as the newest member of the college's faculty, and then he made his exit.

The head of the personnel looked at me and smiled as she offered me a chair. Then she said, "Carol, all of us in this department have quietly cheered as you have progressed and been elevated through each level of the interviewing process, and today we are all thrilled for you." Then she wanted to know if I would really have my degree by September when I would begin teaching (without it, I would lose the job).  I assured her that I would have it.

I spent one entire month of that summer writing the thesis for my Master's Degree; that was the last requirement for my degree. So a week later, I was hooded for my Master's Degree and I walked graduation at the university; then I wrote for a month. I composed a 50+ page document. I submitted it to my master teacher and then left on vacation. I called home to the university from Niagara Falls to learn that my thesis had been accepted. What a relief.

Receiving this 20 year pin at almost the conclusion of my 21st year of teaching brings a flood of memories and an enormous amount of gratitude for getting to do exactly what I want to do - teach college students that they have the ability to write. (I just wish I didn't have so many papers to grade.)

From Southern California,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.