biddy

By biddy

Dried rose petals. And the hedgehog!

Here is the first batch of my attempt at dried rose petals. 
A) I tried the microwave method, where you lay them on baking parchment on a microwavable plate. 
The first lot were really good then the microwave decided it did not like doing them and kept shutting itself off. 
The motor became too hot. I was thinking last night that I would have to get a new one, yet when hubby got home from a meeting in London later, he put some cold coffee in it, which had been made earlier, and it worked perfectly!
So to plan B: 
I heated the fan oven to 180C and once more used a baking tray as beforehand. 
The first batch went really well, but I burnt the second lot by leaving them in too long! They were almost ready after a minute. 
At least I know what works the best now. 
Oh, and if you would like a glimpse of our nightly hedgehog visits,
I have uploaded some on to Youtube. 
I am still a novice in this department so hope that this link works. 
             
https://youtu.be/vrp3m6Uq2t0
It's been a busy day today. I did some dusting this morning, as you could write your name on some of the surfaces! 
This afternoon was the usual one of meeting my friend at the Garden Centre for a coffee. I once more showed her the menu and asking her to read out the  particular one she would prefer. She recognises the word Cappuccino. Although she finds it hard to pronounce the word correctly. 
 It's almost end of term over the road at the Primary School. 
In recent years on the last day stretch limos have arrived bringing them to their Disco Prom night! 
The girls are usually shrieking with excitement in all their party finery, and the boys trying to look oh so grown up! 
In September they will all be First Years again in a Secondary or Grammar School. Small fry in a much bigger pond.
     Rites of passage.   
      
           

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.