High summer.

I’m sitting with the patio window wide open having just finished my breakfast. There is hardly a breath of wind outside. Leaves stir every now and again.
The blackbird came to the kitchen windowsill first thing for his sultanas.
Thankfully the skies cleared last evening and there was a good view of the partial lunar eclipse. So still and silent. Strange to think those astronauts landed up there all those years ago.
Birdsongs are more muted at this time of year and there is a tiny sense of autumn creeping up stealthily.
The rowan tree berries are now hanging in clusters of orange.
The last of the term’s School trips has just departed across the road in a flurry of chattering children with their teachers and helpers. Two large coach loads.
I must stir myself more than the breeze and empty the washing machine, otherwise I will just sit here and gaze at all the colours outside!
A good day for drying the laundry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.