A day in the life

By Shelling

Energyboost

Friday morning. After a short ChiGong session I had my breakfast outside, which is most often the case in summer on Öland. We do have rain but so far most mornings has been rain free. Oatmeal, yoghurt, coffee, water and sometimes a cheese sandwich is what I generally have in the morning when I have time for a long breakfast, should anyone wonder what we Swedes have for breakfast. Now you know, at least what I eat, or what I ate this morning.

The routine went on with music practicing and then I had to make lunch for two, since I had one of my former colleges as a lunch guest. It happens far too seldom, I love the conversation on high and low subjects.

Late afternoon, a short jog around one of my tracks to get the puls going, that's when I found these berries, full of taste and energy. They belong to the family of Blackberries or Brambles, Rubus plicatus, but are smaller and the leaves are a little bit different. In latin they're called Rubus caesius, Blåhalllon or Salmbär in Swedish. They grow wild in large parts of southern Sweden, especially here, on Öland and in Gotland, the large island to the far east of the country. They particularly like limestone ground, they are a bit more sour than ordinary Brambles but makes fantastic jam.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.