A day in the life

By Shelling

Miss Sister

Most of the afternoon has been spent at the concert in the garden near Färjestaden, 'Ferrytown', so called because the ferries from Kalmar used to land there. My friend M is arranging a series of summer concerts with partly local artists in her garden with an audience of max.50 people. I design posters and Facebook events and help a little with practicalities during the concerts. 

Todays attraction was a young woman who uses the artist name 'Miss Sister', locally fairly well known and with a budding career in Stockholm, for the moment paused by corona virus. She performs all her own songs. Her lyrics are purely feminist oriented and she works a lot with teenage girls to help them express themselves and learning about their rights. I'm quite admiring her energy and endurance. When I was 23 I surely would have needed to know more about the things she is singing about today.

She is also an old student of mine so I got to play guitar during one of the songs performed by a friend of hers, also a student of mine, who got to do one song in the program. I feel so humble and proud being invited to play during their concert, yet another generation expressing what is important in their time, in their life, in our lives.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.