Serendipity

Three days in the fridge
and blueberries housed
a six-legged stowaway.
Quick! It climbed on my finger.

I could not have contrived
its timely arrival,
with my wilting nasturtiums
alive with blackfly.

Cupping it carefully
from thieving winds
I placed it gently
on a heavy black stem.

It froze briefly
(Died and gone to heaven?)
then, head down,
the ladybird dined.

© Celia Warren 2019


It's rained today, for which the garden is very grateful.

As a self-taught five-finger typist, this is proving a difficult entry to type as I cut my left forefinger very deeply this lunchtime. It's heavily bandaged to stop the bleeding. (Ironic when I couldn't give blood for my blood-test earlier this week!)

This afternoon, we headed to Torbay hospital for my first annual check-up following glaucoma surgery a year ago. Unfortunately, the pressure in my eyes measured high. I've to return in a couple of months for another test. If it's still high, I shall need a change in eye drops. Rather shaken me as at the last test my pressures were fine. Only consolation is that there's so far no deterioration in my peripheral vision. Ho hum.

Was good to meet this little ladybird. There's still hope!

Have a good weekend blipmates, despite the absence of tennis or cricket to cheer us!

NB Although I put the ladybird on a stem, when I returned immediately with my camera, it had already moved on to the leaf, as you see!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.